Support for the DIY speaker builder

 
Jeff S.
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:27 am

Dave, when loading a saved file for a 3-way the mid FRD doesn't load. Looking at the saved csp file the mid frd is not listed. Had the same problem in v4. On the plus side I do like having the power response. Thanks again for all your hard work.
 
User avatar
dlr
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:34 am

That's curious. I've been using reload for 2-way and 3-way for most of my testing and have not had any issues. Is there any message of any kind? Does the impedance file load? I'll look into it, see if I can replicate it. I've had no issues since implementing it.

I just looked at one of mine. All three drivers are listed. The only empty lines are those for the second midrange and second woofer, which I am not using for that project.

Dave
 
User avatar
dlr
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:14 pm

I changed the topic to the full version number, since all of this is in v1.1 at the moment. There may at some point be a v1.5 or even a v5. This is to help prevent any confusion.

Dave
 
Jeff S.
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:07 pm

I get a message when selecting 3-way parallel that say's "Not yet implemented."
The following is the bottom of the csp file.

C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Vifa BC25SC06-04 In Box.frd
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Vifa BC25SC06-04 In Box.zma
*
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Peerless 832444 In Box.zma
*
*
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Peerless 831735 In Box.frd
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Peerless 831735 In Box.zma
*
*
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids
 
User avatar
dlr
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:43 pm

I see that your file has a "*" in the empty rows. This was how some earlier versions stored unused rows. They should be totally blank. Starting from scratch may clear up the problem. I may need to look into that again. You may see "Not Yet Implemented", then 3-way if you scroll past 3-way. This is because when you select the others (such as 2.5 way, etc.), it pops up the message, then resets the selection to the last good selection (3-way if you had scrolled).

If that doesn't clear it up, download the v1.105 file again, uninstall the old and reinstall the latest. You may be one of the few with a bug accidentally introduced that is cleared. A few downloads occurred before I found the problem, but that problem hung the program, not the same symptoms, just be sure you have the latest in any case. I'd also suggest starting from scratch, start the program, load the six files and select 3-way after that. It's possible something got into the saved session file.

Send my your files, all six, in a zip if you continue to have problems. Include the problem session file. I'll see if I can replicate the problem. So far I've had no other reports of problems.

Dave
 
Jeff S.
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:10 pm

Here are the files.
Attachments
3way test.zip
(33.44 KiB) Downloaded 839 times
 
User avatar
dlr
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:30 pm

I just tested it with your files. I had to rename the base user directory to match my account, but otherwise I changed nothing. All but the midrange SPL imported, as your project file had everything listed but that. I manually imported the midrange SPL file, saved the project, reloaded and all reloaded.

I can't replicate the problem. I've never seen this occur in all of my testing.

Go to the midrange tab and ensure that it shows the file imported and that the SPL graph is properly updated. Save the project and reload. It's never failed me through many months of testing.

Dave
 
Jeff S.
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:15 am

Dave, I used the load frd from the mid tab instead of on the system tab, saved it to a csp file and now it's working fine. Thanks for looking into this. Jeff
 
User avatar
dlr
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:54 am

That's what I did last night. I'll check the load from the System tab to see if there's an issue with it. I had not considered that.

Dave
 
Jeff S.
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:43 pm

Was just wondering if you had a chance to try it?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest